don't click here

Poppin & Jupa: Pocket Adventure

General Information

Poppin & Jupa: Pocket Adventure is an action-adventure exploration game in which you play as a pair of young adventurers: The ladybug boy Poppin, and the scarecrow girl Jupa. Using the mysterious Gadget Box, Poppin and Jupa combat baddies, get around tricky challenges, and collect treasure as a team. In this adventure, the pair are traveling up to explore the grandiose Mount Glitteroam; what friends, foes, and secrets will they find along the way? Come and find out!

This is a demo of a game I've been working on for over 3 years, it includes Chapter 1 of a 7 Chapter game; the next Chapter is in progress but I would love to get more feedback/support from anyone that might be interested. The game is Windows PC only (for now), and lasts around 30 to 60 minutes to complete. This demo uses placeholder music and sound effects.

Comments

I have a keyboard and am controlling the game with it. If you want me to name the save file, please let me use that keyboard to do so, rather than have me scroll around your virtual keyboard one letter at a time. And don't have a prominent button labeled "back" if it does not function as a backspace key.

Other than that bad first impression, though, I have no complaints: the game itself is lovely. It's thoroughly charming and playable, and nothing ever seemed to go wrong. The characters are familiar but are drawn out by their expressive portraits, and their various incidental animations are adorable. The biggest challenges, save for the turnip, are all left optional and clearly demarcated. There's a remarkable and welcome variety of subclimes. All frequent actions are helpfully bound to single buttons. Well done.