don't click here

Gamit: The Skyward Voyage

General Information

A game I've been working on for about 2 years or so, I just finished it around the time SAGE released and I'm looking for some feedback to help me moving forward.

I've submitted smaller crappier projects before to small jams, so this'll be the "big bucks" for me, lemme know whacha think:
(Also the rest of this is just a copy-paste from my itch.io, which you can go to, here: https://sushininja05.itch.io/gamit )

-----

Gamit!
AN INCREDIBLE VOYAGE ABOUT THE DISHEVELED OLD MAN, GAMIT, AND HIS CRUSADE TO ANNIHILATE A SKY-BORN NATION.

Plucked from the crust of the earth, the elite of the world decided to break free from the surface. Leaving the surface drought with pollution and disarray. However, there is one, misguided-idiotic-unwashed man, ready to take them down.

Gamit plays as a top-down shooter, pick from 12 varied weapons before you pick a mission to take down. Fight varied enemies in different levels through-out 4 worlds. Tackle goals with a variety of options, fight bosses with varied patterns and counters, and help Gamit destroy the new sky nation.

+ A completely original soundtrack! Courtesy of mikey0929, the lad.

Comments

I checked this out on my stream.

This one has potential, but it has a long way to go. For one, the suicide button being mapped to [R] makes it way too easy to push it by accident. Also, the player kinda sticks on walls. Once an enemy rushes you and your weapon is reloading, your game is pretty much over. I don't think an entire pathway teaching you how to use the bullet-walk mechanic was necessary, either.

I do like the edgy, MS Paint aesthetic, though. I was reminded of Postal 2. I can see this becoming a really engaging top-down shooter with some more polish.

I checked this out on my stream.