don't click here

Sonic Journey

Project Overview

Sonic Journey is a fangame I've been working on for the past many months. Running on Unity, it uses a completely original engine not directly based on any previous 3D Sonic fangames. It boasts some robust features, like online multiplayer, custom level support, even a more advanced camera system! It also features a powerful importer for Blitz Sonic stages, giving you access to countless levels from 3D Sonic fangame history.

Gameplay takes great inspiration from the Sonic Adventure games, with tight control on Sonic to make for a better experience. With online multiplayer you can play with anyone around the globe, allowing for you to share the experience with up to 32 of your closest friends!

One thing I've been tackling very hard is modding support, as well. Even without the source code, you can easily create new and complex levels for the game. To make online very friendly with modding, you can also download stages from the server, making it very easy to even play with people using mods you don't have. I believe this centralization of modding focusing on a single game with easy distribution and powerful support will make it a good option for future developers to try and work with before, or instead of, making their own game.

Screenshots and media!

Launch trailer:

Screenshots:

Bonus Content

The Sonic model is the Runners model. Please stop complaining to me that I'm using the Forces model when I'm not.
All the animations are original and made by me. Some of them look nicer than others, but that's what happens when you have a programmer be tasked with making an entire game.
I really enjoy how the Extreme Gear came out, but I'm hoping people don't try to use it like Mario Kart and give up on it like they did in the original Sonic Riders. I put a lot of effort into making it feel very nice with the same spirit as the original Riders, so I do hope it's enjoyable, and people don't immediately give up on it.